Reviews

9.1
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
9.2
Property Location
9.5
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.2
Value
8.4

Reviews

    JBram07
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    September 17, 2018

    Perfect stay for what we needed

    Shower curtain needed to be changed since it had a mildewy smell to it. The lighting above the vanity was horrible. And the free breakfast was definitely nothing special. No restaurant in the hotel but plenty around. Parking was $25/night so we decided to park down the road at a covered parking garage at half the price. Easy walking distance to it. No bellhop so for some needing help that could be a huge bummer when checking in/out.
    The bed was super comfy. Location was fantastic with plenty of restaurants around. Felt safe here. The free coffee and espresso machines were very good! Evening cookies were delish! Our room was surprisingly quiet even though it was close to the front desk. Had an in room safe and refrigerator which was nice.
    William
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 17, 2018

    Nice place

    No coffee packets for the coffee machine. Barking dog in room next to me was so annoying, and trolley tracks are loud
    Allison
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 17, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    au

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 16, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jennifer
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 14, 2018

    Understated elegance

    Our schedule didn't give us the opportunity to visit the rooftop. Next time!
    Wonderful continental breakfast. Best oatmeal ever, fresh local pastries, many options. Enjoyed the self serve coffee/ espresso/ tea bar - always available . The entire staff was very warm and welcoming. The artwork was mainly paintings, prints and photos of Portland area. Close to many good restaurants, Powells, breweries and transit. The pristine white linens and plush bathrobe made me feel special. Quietly elegant but still down to earth. Loved it!
    Sandy G
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 14, 2018

    Fun extras at the Mark Spencer

    Only problem we had was with the guest computer which was not working when we tried to print boarding passes.
    The afternoon tea, the daily wine tasting & the rooftop bar were all great extras & nicely done. Also the cappuccino/expresso maker is a nice addition. The beds are super comfortable; the decor is tasteful; & the location is perfect for those who wish to be downtown.
    Judith
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 13, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marybeth
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 13, 2018
    Fabulous staff with lovely, comfortable room. Easy parking and perfect location. Will stay here next time in Portland.
    Barbara Fraser
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 12, 2018

    Favorite Hotel in Portland

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful from the first friendly informative encounter to the helpful send away and hope for my next visit. Each staff member was outstanding in every way...even ones unexpected. Your hotel will be my home in Portland.
    Every single moment! Friendly accommodating staff, clean room, attention to detail, a staff that helped me with each problem I encountered. Lovely the entire time.
    Carol
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 11, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    JackL.
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 8, 2018

    Great Spot in Downtown Portland

    The lack of parking was a bit unexpected. The hotel's lots filled up and we were forced to use one of the cities outdoor lots. The hotel was able to provide vouchers to cover the cost, but never offered it when the situation was brought it up so we paid for it ourselves with no in-out privelages. Be sure to ask early for a hotel parking spot, or make sure you request a parking pass before you pay for the city lot.
    Great and friendly service. Breakfast and early dinner wine tasting and snacks served. Location is amazing, we walked to most of the landmarks we wanted to visit. Room was large with great views.
    ca

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 16, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Charles
    cn

    Review Score

    5.8
    September 15, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Creekscribe
    us

    Review Score

    7.1
    September 15, 2018

    Pretty hotel needs management to step things up

    Inconsistencies ran up against the overall ambience of the hotel. An I-can't-be-bothered millennial checked us in with minimal information and interest. Fortunately the bellman, Fernando (Hernando? sorry) was genuinely helpful, alerting us to the fact that the off-site city garage we were directed to by the clerk was not a good security bet overnight. He suggested a secure garage nearby. (Thanks!) In the bathroom, the shower fixture fell off in my hand. The bathtub hadn't been scoured in a week. The bed was very soft, hard on bad backs. And the streetcar ran outside our window until 1 a.m., a wonderful thing but also something to alert guests to should they want to buy ear plugs (we had them). The clerk who checked me out carried on a lengthy conversation with the previous customer while my husband waited outside in the rain loading luggage. When alerted to the shower problem, the clerk offered to remove the city parking garage charge to compensate for the shower issue, yet the check-in clerk had said there would be no charge. All these were little things, not an issue for our one-night stay, but they do call for greater focus on staff training.
    The Mark Spencer has lovely, comfortable lounge areas where you can read your free New York Times. A coffee service station offers capuccinos, lattés, decaf and the like around-the-clock. There's also afternoon wine-tasting and a charming area for sipping; a nice breakfast is also served here. The guest room was pretty and recently repainted in refreshingly modern colors, and the room was spacious. Located near the Pearl District and Powell Books,this hotel puts you within walking distance of good restaurants and Portlandia shopping. A noon check-out time is very generous in the hotel world.
    Derek & Wendy
    gb

    Review Score

    7.5
    September 14, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kristin
    ca

    Review Score

    10
    September 13, 2018

    We will definitely be back!

    The parking lot for our van was across the street and every time I used my phone I had to re-login to Wi-Fi
    The staff was excellent! Every single person we spoke with was helpful, courteous, and genuinely happy. The beds and the robes were amazing! Had a wonderful glass of wine on the rooftop and good breakfast and coffee in the morning!
    Judith
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    September 11, 2018

    Great hotel with fantastic staff

    The layout of breakfast was too crowded and cramped
    Wonderful front desk staff and beautiful room (even with no view)
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    September 10, 2018
    Nothing
    Fantastic and helpful staff, very comfortable bed, in a very central location
    Brad
    ca

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 7, 2018

    Decadent pampering holiday indulgence.

    No free helicopter rides from roof🙃
    Walking distance to fine restaurants and shopping. Secure establishment. Included breakfast above average.
    Yaxing
    cn

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 7, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews...